The Ten Greatest Songs of All Time: #9 – Rock Me Amadeus

Thanks to the recent discovery of a super-secret formula for ranking songs, I’ve been able to compile a definitive list of the ten greatest songs of all time.

Because I’m such a nice person, I’ve decided to share the list with you all. And because I’m kind of weird, I’m sharing them in non-sequential order.

The songs so far:

#4: I Want You Back – The Jackson 5

#9: Rock Me Amadeus – Falco

Why the ranking is justified

The year was 1985, and America was going through “Amadeus fever.” The movie “Amadeus” told the (fictionalized) tale of the conflict between legendary composer Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and his arch rival Antonio Salieri.

Would you be surprised to learn that the soundtrack from a movie biography about an 18th century classical composer spawned a #1 hit by an Austrian pop singer?

What can I tell you? The eighties were a strange time.

The American radio version of the song also provides some educational value. Midway through the song was a voice-over of facts about the life of Mozart.

The song has been featured in popular culture.

You may remember it from the movie “Adventureland:”

And of course, it inspired what was possibly the greatest Simpsons song of all time:

Any song that can inspire something that great certainly deserves a spot on this list.

Personal reflection on the song

When this song was originally played on the radio, I had no idea what they were saying. I think I heard the lyrics as “I’m a dais.”

What did I think that meant? I have no idea. But it was still one catchy little tune.

What do you think? Does Amadeus deserve to be on this list? Or did the formula misfire with this one?

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Pop Culture and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Ten Greatest Songs of All Time: #9 – Rock Me Amadeus

  1. if i hadn’t seen Wolfie , i would have thought i’m a daus too, b/c i always hear songs wrong

  2. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I just remember the party goers with the crazy pastel hair and wanting to color my hair pink, even at 8 years old.

    Great song. This was an early favorite of kidlet’s, probably around kindergarten.

  3. I was a fan….I haven’t heard it in years.

  4. stephrogers says:

    Now I’m singing Dr Zaius in my head. On repeat. Once it’s there it seems to never leave!

  5. This song is epic… and much better than Falco’s first “hit” Der Kommissar, which was done much, much better by After the Fire….

  6. Pingback: Reading Digest: Xi’an Bart Edition | Dead Homer Society

  7. Pingback: The Ten Greatest Songs of All Time: #8 – Beer for My Horses | The Cutter Rambles

  8. Pingback: The Ten Greatest Songs of All-Time: #6 – I Will Always Love You | The Cutter Rambles

  9. Pingback: The Greatest Song of All Time | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

