Who won the internet? – Barack Obama

It’s Friday! For us 9-5 working stiffs, that means today is the end of the work week!

For the second consecutive week (a new record!), I’m going to celebrate by bringing you another edition of “Who Won the Internet?”

Quick Disclaimer:

Obviously, everyone’s impression of the “internet” will differ. Other people aren’t going to visit the same sites that I do, nor will they see the same social media trends.

With that in mind, this segment should really be called “Who Won the Cutter’s Internet?” But that would be a stupid title, so I’m not going to use it.

I’ve noticed that many of the people I follow on social media are big fans of the Comedy Central shows The Daily Show and The Colbert Report. It feels like some of my friends get the majority of their news from these shows.

I remember back in 2010 when the shows announced they were holding a “Rally to Restore Sanity” and a “March to Keep Fear Alive.”

People went nuts, and there was a full-blown Facebookgasm.

Maybe I saw the effects more because I live near DC, and some of my friends planned to actually attend these events. But it was obvious that when those shows make a big announcement, people in my social media feeds are going to react.

Therefore, I was subject to quite a bit of chatter this week about Colbert’s special guest: The President of the United States, Barack Obama.

There was a scheduled interview with the two, but before that could happen, Obama “unexpectedly” came out and usurped Colbert’s usual “The Word” segment, re-naming it “The Decree.”

This was good stuff. Obama showed a personality and sense of humor that hasn’t always been obvious during his administration. He mocked both himself and his opponents, and seemed so darn likable, it made me wonder why so many people seem to hate him so much.

Congrats to the president for being this week's winner! (Image source)

Congrats to the president for being this week’s winner! (Image source)

What’s that? They hate him because many Republican politicians have seemingly spent the past six years making no attempt to improve the country, instead concentrating on making Obama’s reign a failure?

Oh, they also hate him because some people in this country are racists?

I see.

Regardless of how you feel about the president, it is hard to deny that his appearance on Colbert’s show didn’t make a huge impact on social media. And that’s why he is this week’s winner.

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Pop Culture, Who won the internet? and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who won the internet? – Barack Obama

  1. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I don’t know how I missed this the first time, so thanks for sharing this.

Got Something to Say?

