The Ten Greatest Songs of All Time: #8 – Beer for My Horses

Thanks to the recent discovery of a super-secret formula for ranking songs, I’ve been able to compile a definitive list of the ten greatest songs of all time.

Because I’m such a nice person, I’ve decided to share the list with you all. And because I’m kind of weird, I’m sharing them in non-sequential order.

The songs so far:

#9: Rock Me Amadeus – Falco

#4: I Want You Back – Jackson 5

#8: Beer for My Horses – Toby Keith and Willie Nelson

Why the ranking is justified

I’ll admit that I’m not a huge fan of country music. And by “not a huge fan of,” I mean, I don’t like it at all. So it should be a huge surprise that I actually like this song.

If a country song is so good that even I like it, then it probably definitely deserves a spot in the top ten.

The song is basically a tale of good old-fashioned vigilante justice. Keith and Nelson are signing about lynching a bunch of criminals, and then celebrating by getting drunk. (And apparently getting their horses drunk too. Seems like a waste of beer to me, but hey, who am I to judge?)

Keep in mind that the song was recorded in 2003 when the events of 9/11 were still fresh in our minds. Somehow, I don’t think the song would be received quite as warmly today.

Oh, and in case you didn’t notice – and you probably didn’t – the detective in the video is played by Coric Nemec of Parker Lewis Can’t Lose fame.

Drunk horses and Parker Lewis? Yeah, this definitely deserves to be here.

Personal reflection on the song

Not the most attractive man ever. (Image source)

Not the most attractive man ever. (Image source)

As a child, my friend and I were talking about who we’d get to play our parents in a movie. I went with Harold Ramis and Annie Potts. He chose Willie Nelson and Rhea Perlman.

He apparently did not have a very high opinion of his parents.

What do you think? Does Beer for My Horses deserve to be on this list? Or did the formula misfire with this one?

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Pop Culture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Ten Greatest Songs of All Time: #8 – Beer for My Horses

  1. I’m not a fan of country either, which means when I’m forced to listen to it, I have to listen to some Metallica (and I no longer like Metallica either) or else I go postal. That being said, there are four gentlemen whom I respect very much: Willie Nelson, Waylon Jennings, Johnny Cash, and Kris Kristofferson, otherwise known as The Highwaymen. Each and together, they were and are phenomenal singers and storytellers.

  2. My husband loves Willie Nelson. Or maybe he says he does just to punish me?
    I approve of Falcor’s appearance on your list.

  3. Pingback: The Ten Greatest Songs of All-Time: #3 – Can I Kick it? | The Cutter Rambles

  4. Pingback: The Ten Greatest Songs of All-Time: #6 – I Will Always Love You | The Cutter Rambles

  5. Pingback: The Greatest Song of All Time | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

