Starbucks and the Solstice

I was concerned that I wasn’t going to get a post in today. I didn’t have much time to write, but that’s not surprising since today is the shortest day of the year.

That’s right, it’s once again time for the Cutter to acknowledge the winter solstice!

Considering I’ve made two previous solstice posts, and didn’t have much to talk about then, there’s a good chance I won’t have much to talk about now either. So instead, I’ll talk about today’s experience with Starbucks.

I don’t drink coffee. I can’t recall the last time I actually had a sip of the stuff. I don’t like the taste, and I don’t need it for energy, so I figured why bother?

It may seem counter-intuitive, but I think that’s one of the reasons I have been able to handle my recent sleep deprivation so well. (Of course, in this case, “so well” is very relative.) Because I’m not dependent on a drug to wake myself up, my body is better equipped to compensate for the lack of sleep. Or something like that.

No thanks. (Image source)

No thanks. (Image source)

This morning, on the way to the Cutlet’s ballet class, Mrs. Cutter wanted to stop at Starbucks. (She does not possess the same self-starting ability that I do.) She asked if I wanted something, and knowing that Starbucks offers some sweet tasting drinks, I decided that it might be a fun holiday-themed treat.

She gave me the option of a decaf drink, but I figured that a little pick-me-up at the start of a busy day wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world. After all, I do indulge in the occasional soda now and then.

She got me some sort of Frappucino drink that was indeed delicious. I thought all was well and good until about an hour later.

I was driving along, and began to feel shaky. My brain felt like it was on fire. It didn’t take me long to realize that the amount of caffeine contained in a Starbucks drink is considerably more than is contained in a can of soda, and my body couldn’t handle it.

It was all I could do to concentrate on the road and reach my destination safely. When I finally saw Mrs. Cutter, I asked her in amazement, “People put that into their bodies every day? Now I understand why there are so many problems in the world! How do you people live like this?”

I think I’ve finally come down from the caffeine rush. It will be interesting to see how I sleep tonight. I’m guessing I’ll either sleep incredibly well or incredibly poorly.

Just kidding! I’ve got infant twins in the house! No matter how tired I am, there’s no chance I’ll sleep that well!

And oddly enough, I find myself considering getting another one of those Frappucinos tomorrow morning. Caffeine isn’t addictive, right?

Anyway, hope everyone had a good solstice! And for those of you who enjoy day time aactivities just remember: It only gets better from here!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Randomness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Starbucks and the Solstice

  1. Robin says:

    Hahaha! If you go back, try the pumpkin spice latte with whipped cream on top 🙂 I recently drank that on a long road trip. Yum!

    I usually buy a bottle of water when I go to cafes or Starbucks with friends. In the summer, I might get an iced tea lemonade. There isn’t as much caffeine.

  2. I’m not the only person who doesn’t drink coffee? Wow! OK, I’m probably still the only person holding down a graveyard shift job who doesn’t drink coffee….

    Too much caffeine just makes my heart want to beat right out of my chest. Starbucks would probably be the death of me…

  3. stephrogers says:

    It was the summer solstice here on the other side of the world, and really really hot. Iced coffee, that’s what we needed

Got Something to Say?

