The 2014 Cutter Awards

We’ve reached the last day of 2014. This seems like a good time to look back at the year that was and hand out my annual awards.

Per custom, I’ll kick things off with a musical number.

Apparently, Justin Timberlake was so excited about having his song named the seventh greatest of all-time, that he agreed to perform for my readers. And best of all, he didn’t come alone!

Here are Justin and Jay-Z performing Holy Grail!

The first award to be handed out is the Chris Callan Rookie of the Year Award, which goes to my new favorite person of the year.

My previous job wasn’t a great one. I wasn’t really doing the type of work I wanted to be doing, and the lack of vacation time was a huge detriment.

But at least the job allowed me to meet this year’s Callan Award winner. He was hired in the second half of 2013. Theoretically, he was hired as a front end designer, but given the lack of distinction between IT positions at the company, we both ended up working on a lot of the same stuff.

We soon began to commiserate over the state of the company and how we weren’t always pleased with the way some of our co-workers handled things. We soon came to the conclusion that we were just about the only sane people working there.

When I decided to leave the company in April, I knew that he was going to be pissed at me. Fortunately we’ve been able to stay in contact and still meet up for lunch once a month.

Since we were both big fans of the show Transformers: Prime, his pseudonym shall be based on his favorite character from that show.

A big congratulations to…Smokescreen!

Next up is the Movie of the Year Award.

After the twins were born, I didn’t have a lot of time to make it out to the movies. Our outing to see The Hobbit this week was the first time I ventured into a theater since August. So if there was a high quality movie released between September and October, chances are that I didn’t see it. (But I’ve heard good things about Interstellar!)

Fortunately, my top movie of the year came out in April. I had high expectations for this film since it was part of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, and almost all (looking at you, Iron Man 3!) of the movies in the series have been good.

But Captain America: The Winter Solider was probably the best of all the MCU movies. It had political intrigue! Explosions! Guys in fancy flying suits! Robert Redford!

Plus, there were lots and lots of somersaults. Just about every scene in the movie featured a character doing a somersault or a flip of some sort. Just watch this clip!

For the second straight year, I shall present a Blogger of the Year award. I want to honor one of my fellow bloggers who has constantly been churning out quality and entertaining material on his site.

10297392This year’s award goes to one of the hardest working men in the blogging game. If he isn’t drawing a hilarious cartoon, then he’s discussing a classic commercial from the days of yore.

Earlier this year, he shared with us his quest to be a contestant on the game show “Who Wants to Be a Millionaire.” While his attempt to become rich went unfulfilled, the journey was indeed fascinating to follow.

Therefore, my Blogger of the Year is the man known as Evil Squirrel!

If you’re not already following his blog, I suggest you head over there immediately and check it out.

Next up is my Song of the Year.

Admittedly, I have strange musical tastes, and I’m not exactly on the cutting edge when it comes to the latest music. I could look at the Billboard Top 100 chart and not recognize more than a handful of songs listed.

The song I have chosen as my favorite isn’t one that most people would have guessed, since it doesn’t match my usual musical preferences. But for whatever reason, I really like it.

The winner is Girls Chase Boys by Ingrid Michaelson:

The final award is the coveted Person of the Year award.

Usually, I give this award to one of my friends. But for the most part, I stopped seeing most of them in the second half of the year. So they all get disqualified.

Instead, I’ll give the award to a person with whom I’ve gone through quite a bit this year.

We received some pretty major (and partially unexpected) news in January, and since then, our lives have changed dramatically. There’s been extreme morning sickness and quite a few pounds added on. (And that was just me!)

The last few months have been extremely tiring, and at times, it felt like I wasn’t going to make it with my sanity intact. But thankfully, I had a wonderful partner accompanying me on the journey, and there’s nobody I’d rather have gone through it all with.

So congratulations to the 2014 Person of the Year: Mrs. Cutter!

I’ll close things out with one final musical number. In honor of her victory, I chose one of Mrs. Cutter’s favorite songs of 2014. Here is Fall Out Boy performing Centuries!

Happy new year and may your 2015 be wonderful!

 

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Pop Culture, Trips and Events and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The 2014 Cutter Awards

  1. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Yay ES!

    Very sweet that you have Mrs. Cutter as person of the year 🙂

    Happy New Year to y’all!

  2. List of X says:

    Given your situation, I think the choice of person of the year basically came down to one between Mrs. Cutter and The Cutlet. 🙂 Although I’m sure that the winner totally deserved to win.
    Happy New Year to all of you in Cutland!

  3. I don’t know what I’m more excited about…. winning a prestigious Cutter Award (YAY!!!! I shall clear space on my shelf by throwing away a few possums), or the fact that your Song of the Year was damn near the song I chose to do for Mecca Muzak Monday this week. I LOVE that song, and wouldn’t even know it existed had it not got played at Mecca last summer…

    Thanks man! You rock!

  4. Reblogged this on Evil Squirrel's Nest and commented:
    So Cutter said there’d be one more highlight to my 2014… and he was right! Cutter has named me his Blogger of the Year! And I get to share the winner’s circle with a song that I was already on my list for a future Mecca Muzak Monday! Woohoo!!!

  5. Great choice for person of the year! Congrats to Mrs. Cutter.

  6. Pingback: Squirrels Chase Boys | Evil Squirrel's Nest

  7. Pingback: Trailers, Trailers Everywhere! | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

