The Ten Greatest Songs of All-Time: #6 – I Will Always Love You

Thanks to the recent discovery of a super-secret formula for ranking songs, I’ve been able to compile a definitive list of the ten greatest songs of all time.

Because I’m such a nice person, I’ve decided to share the list with you all. And because I’m kind of weird, I’m sharing them in non-sequential order.

The songs so far:

#10: Push – Matchbox 20

#9: Rock Me Amadeus – Falco

#8: Beer for My Horses – Toby Keith and Willie Nelson

#7: Cry Me a River – Justin Timberlake

#5: Revolution – The Beatles

#4: I Want You Back – Jackson 5

#3: Can I Kick It? – A Tribe Called Quest

#2: Danger Zone – Kenny Loggins

#6 – I Will Always Love You – Whitney Houston

Why the ranking is justified

She became a bit of a mess at the end of her life, but back in the 80’s and early 90’s, Whitney Houston was as big as they came in the music industry. For all you youngsters out there, she was essentially the Beyoncé of her time, complete with a pop star husband.

But Whitney wasn’t content just being on top of the movie world. She also tried her hand at acting, and perhaps her most famous role was when she teamed up with Kevin Costner in the 1992 movie The Bodyguard. (This was back when Costner was considered one of the biggest stars in Hollywood.)

Most people probably wouldn’t remember the movie it if not for the song that Houston produced for the soundtrack. She took Dolly Parton’s 1974 hit and re-worked it as an R&B power ballad. The result ended up winning two Grammy Awards.

It’s worth noting that according to the formula, this is the greatest song ever sung by a female artist. (I suppose that’s a bit of a spoiler for the #1 song. My apologies to anyone hoping that Blondie’s “Rapture” was going to capture that spot.)

Personal reflection on the song

Long-time readers of the blog will remember when I capitalized on Houston’s death to become the star of Mrs. Cutter’s company holiday party.

Aside from that, I don’t really have much opinion about Whitney. She was a great singer, but her music isn’t exactly my cup of tea. And it’s not like I was especially pumped to watch The Bodyguard either.

I do remember one time in elementary school when our gym teacher recited “Greatest Love of All” over the intercom system. I don’t recall why exactly she did that, and looking back, it was kind of weird. I think it had something to do with the children being the future or something.

What do you think? Does “I Will Always Love You” deserve its lofty ranking? Or did my formula (and keep in mind, it’s infallable!) miss the mark on this one?

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Pop Culture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Ten Greatest Songs of All-Time: #6 – I Will Always Love You

  1. I agree that it was the best song she ever performed. As for being one of the top ten best ever….I don’t know. But then, I was not big into R&B, unless it was the blue eyed soul of Hall&Oates or Bread. Not saying I didn’t like the rest (I loved the music of the Pointer Sisters and Lisa Lisa and the Cult Jam…not to mention Shaka Khan) I was drawn more to the music of the male vocalists. And am admittedly a metal-head/blues metal freak.

  2. It’s definitely up there in the top 10. It amazes me how many future star wannabes will attempt that song on a talent show….there are very few who can do it justice.

  3. Lily Lau says:

    Can’t believe I agree with most of the list! 😀

  4. Had Celine Dion not come along in the late 90’s, this would have been my pick for the most annoying song of the decade. I love peppy 80’s Whitney, but diva Whitney of the 90’s just blew chunks in my opinion. I also seem to be the only person in the world who hated her rendition of the National Anthem at Super Bowl XXV…

  5. twaldron2014 says:

    5, 4, 2, and 6. You can almost tell my generation from the ones that I like. #2 only makes the list because of my nostalgic devotion to “Top Gun.” A fun project!

  6. Pingback: The Greatest Song of All Time | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

