A is for Antibiotics

April is here! To celebrate, I’ve decided to sign up for the Blogging from A to Z April challenge!

It’s a fairly simple concept: Each day, bloggers have to write a post with a topic beginning with a different letter. Today’s post topic will start with A, tomorrow’s will start with B, and so on.

For my A post, I’ll discuss antibiotics, since I (as well as my three children) am currently taking them.

Based on the previous sentence, you can probably guess that this hasn’t been a stellar week in the Cutter household. It started on Saturday night when both the Cutlass and Cujo were up crying for most of the night. As night turned into day, it became obvious that the Cutlass wasn’t feeling well. She was especially fussy and didn’t want any part of her bottles.

Meanwhile, the Cutlet began to complain about her throat being sore. Once I was able to find the thermometer, I discovered that both of them had elevated temperatures. Cujo didn’t have a fever, but he also seemed off. While it seemed possible that he just didn’t want to be left out of the “fun,” there was a good chance he was sick as well.

Monday morning, after a particularly rough night (FYI to all you non-parents out there: Sick babies often sleep poorly), I wasn’t feeling too spectacular myself. My sinuses felt like they were on fire, and my stomach was upset.

It didn’t take long before that upset stomach developed into full-blown nausea. I’d go into further detail, but I’m pretty sure nobody wants to read about it. Rest assured that as the day continued, I felt worse and worse. Basically, the combination of sinus pressure and dehydration left me feeling as if a demon was trying to consume my very soul. (There is no Cutter; only Zuul!)

Despite my awful condition, I might have had it better than Mrs. Cutter. Being in a household with four sick people isn’t fun under any circumstance, especially when you’re left to care for most of them.

Thankfully, our au pair was also on duty and was able to handle the twins for the most part during the day. I warned her that she is never allowed to get sick, because if she does, the household will basically fall apart.

A visit to the doctor revealed that all three kids had come down with strep throat. It’s just too bad that CVS doesn’t have some sort of “Buy two, get one free” deal on antibiotics. We’d be cleaning up right about now.

Since this is the Cutlet’s second bout of strep within a year, the doctor said that if she got it again, we should consider having her tonsils removed. Of all the things she could have inherited from me, I certainly didn’t want it to be my tonsils.

At some point, I managed to stumble downstairs, and after taking one look at me, the au pair urged me to call a doctor for myself.  I’m not sure if that’s because I looked so pathetic or simply because she didn’t want me to infect her. Either way, it was good advice.

After being diagnosed with a sinus infection, I was off to CVS to pick up an antibiotic prescription of my own. (Really, CVS, there’s no way you can start a frequent customer program?)

The family that medicates together stays together.

The family that medicates together stays together.

Now that we’re all being medicated, hopefully things will get a little easier around here. The Cutlet has returned to school, the twins appear to be in much better spirits, and I’m feeling much better. (Although I’m still weak. Apparently, two days of barely eating will do that to you.)

And I feel confident that now that we’ve all gotten the sickness out of our system, we’ll have nothing but clean health for the rest of the year. That’s how it works, right?

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A is for Antibiotics

  1. Oh, no! I’m so sorry you guys are sick! At the end of the antibiotics, throw away all the toothbrushes. I didn’t learn that until we had reinfected ourselves.

  2. Oh my goodness. Hope yall are all on the mend real soon. So so not fun.

    Anna @ herding cats & burning soup

  3. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Ugh, hope it knocks everything out and y’all get to feeling better soon.

    You would think they could just fill one large bottle of antibiotic for the twins at least since it’s all dropper-liquid anyway.

    • The Cutter says:

      I wasn’t at the doctor, so I don’t know all the logistics, but apparently, the meds are slightly different for each, and they require a different dosage.

  4. Liz Brownlee says:

    Oh, dear, you poor things! Consider, you and Mrs, taking vitamin D3 in high quantities. My Dr friend says we are all lacking in it, we don’t get enough sun to make it, and we can’t get it from our food. It is essential for your immune system. Since taking it, my OH and I haven’t been ill. (5 years). Not a thing. Hope you all feel better soon. You’ve got an A-z to do. Liz http://www.lizbrownleepoet.com

  5. Liz Brownlee says:

    Probably! Oh… I do hope not.

  6. rogershipp says:

    Antibiotics….. Wonderful to have access to… awful to be needed!

  7. Pingback: Donuts! | The Cutter Rambles

  8. Pingback: H is for….HAMBURGLAR! | The Cutter Rambles

  9. Pingback: Skipping a Day | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

