Donuts!

Thanks to my friend Smokescreen, I was treated to a free donut at the local Krispy Kreme shop this week.

I was reluctant to take the free donut at first, mostly because my stomach hadn’t yet fully recovered from my illness. But was I really going to pass up a free donut? Heck no!

I got into some trouble when I got home though. Apparently, neither the wife nor au pair took kindly to me going out and getting donuts and not bringing them home any. My generous gesture of bringing them a free hat didn’t go over as well as I had hoped. Apparently, the fact that the hat smelled like donuts just made it more of a tease.

While the Krispy Kreme donut was delicious, I’ll be honest with you: I’ve always preferred Dunkin Donuts to Krispy Kreme. While I’m not likely to pass up a donut from either store, if given a choice between the two, I’m going to go with DD just about every time.

Maybe it’s just because I have fond memories of these commercials:

And maybe I only like those commercials because the guy in it looks a lot like Temple University basketball coach Fran Dunphy.

"Fran Dunphy" by Jeff Meade - Flickr: Bob Gessler and Temple basketball coach Fran Dunphy. Licensed under CC BY 2.0 via Wikimedia Commons - http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Fran_Dunphy.jpg#/media/File:Fran_Dunphy.jpg

“Fran Dunphy” by Jeff Meade – Flickr: Bob Gessler and Temple basketball coach Fran Dunphy. Licensed under CC BY 2.0 via Wikimedia Commons – http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Fran_Dunphy.jpg#/media/File:Fran_Dunphy.jpg

I mean, how is Krispy Kreme going to compete with that? Do they even have commercials?

What do you all think? Does Dunkin reign supreme in the donut world, or has Krispy Kreme seized the title of America’s premier donut chain?

And was I wrong to only bring home a hat instead of a donut? (Actually, don’t answer that. I already know what you’re going to say!)

This post has been part of the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge. In case you couldn’t tell, today’s letter was D, and the topic was “Donuts.”

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Donuts!

  1. Next time just make sure you come home with some blood stains on your shirt, and vaguely say in a low voice, “At least I got the hat….”

  2. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I prefer Dunkin, which is akin to blasphemy in this area. Oh well; I will take my chances on the chocolate honey glazed donuts any day.

  3. Dunkin and Krispy have their separate strengths, but when both are cooled down, I think Krispy Kremes lose a little of their magic. But when they’re fresh and still hot? A++.

  4. Stephen Tremp says:

    Classic commercial! Good donuts too.

  5. Jessica says:

    Too funny. I’m a bit “meh” over both, honestly. I like mom and pop bakeries.

    Jessica
    2015 A to Z Blogger
    Visions of Other Worlds

  6. Pingback: And…I’m Fat Again | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

