And…I’m Fat Again

I spent much of my young adult life overweight. While I may not have looked like Fat Albert or anything, I was definitely much heavier than I should have been.

I hadn't quite gotten to "Fat Bastard" levels of portliness. (Image source)

I hadn’t quite gotten to “Fat Bastard” levels of portliness. (Image source)

My problems started in college. I gained the freshmen fifteen, lost most of it due to a bout of mono, and then gained even more back. Like many college students, most of my problems came from having the freedom to eat just about anything I wanted, and not making good decisions as to what to do with that freedom.

My food choices didn’t improve much after graduation. I’d regularly have fast food twice a week, and I had no real concept of portion control.

My overweight period lasted until 2007, when in preparation for our wedding, Mrs. Cutter began doing Weight Watchers. Everyone kept telling her how good she looked, and I began to get a bit jealous.

The final motivation came when I stepped on a scale in March that year. I assumed the scale was inaccurate; It wasn’t.

I was weighing in at 178 pounds, and despite having a somewhat wide natural frame, there was no way I should be anywhere near that heavy. So I decided to join Mrs. Cutter on Weight Watchers.

I lost over 15 pounds in the months before the wedding. As my friends can attest, you could almost even feel my abs. (The reason they could attest this, is because I would often grab their hands and make them feel my stomach.)

This is how I envisioned my abs feeling. (Image source

This is how I envisioned my abs feeling. (Image source

For the most part, I’ve been able to keep the weight off since. This is mostly because Weight Watchers didn’t just help me lose weight, it also helped me better understand proper portion size. Before then, I had simply been eating way too much with every meal.

Over the years, there have been times when I’ve slipped a little, and I’ve had to actively diet to get back where I wanted to be weight wise. The most recent time was last June when I wanted to get into better shape before my family’s beach vacation.

I probably looked about as good as I ever did. However, I was then told that I was no longer allowed to diet. Apparently, pregnant women don’t like it when their husbands lose weight while they’re getting progressively bigger.

So I didn’t diet any more until the twins were born. And after that, I didn’t have the time or energy to worry about what I was eating. I’m not sure exactly what I ate, but I’m guessing that I wasn’t making the healthiest choices.

On New Years Eve, I decided that I had hit rock bottom in my appearance. (It didn’t help that I had also gone over four months without a haircut.) I actually took a shirtless selfie that day (Sorry, ladies, I’m not going to share), and made a vow that one year later, I would look much better.

Early in the year, I tried to actively do Weight Watchers, but it didn’t quite work. It felt like there was always some sort of event in which a lot of food would be present. And with most of my mental energy dedicated to parenting, I didn’t have enough willpower to stay on track.

A few weeks ago, I decided to make another attempt at it, and thus far, I’ve been having more success. I’m not quite where I want to be, but I feel I’m making progress.

I’ll probably keep at it for another couple of weeks. (I’ve found that setting an end date makes it easier to stay on track.)  After that, the key is not to slip back into full-blown “eat anything” mode. I have to remember that just because a donut is offered to me, I don’t HAVE to eat it.

Portion control is a good thing!

And because every post is made better by Weird Al Yankovic, here’s his classic video “Fat:”

This post has been part of the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge. In case you couldn’t tell, today’s letter was F, and the topic was “Fat.”

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to And…I’m Fat Again

  1. It seems to be a never ending battle. I’m going through the same thing….ugh!! Here’s to us both being successful. 🙂

  2. Bard says:

    The lack of selfie isn’t just disappointing the ladies. Frankly though, “making progress” is impressive, even a little bit of progress on a scale is representative of a lot of work portion-wise. A PT told me a 3500 cal is approximately 1 lb. Even if you cut out half of all 500 cal meals, it will still take you a week to see even 1 lb difference. Slow and steady wins the race, among other things 😉

  3. I don’t even try because my culprit’s probably more calories from soda than calories from what I eat… and my Pepsi will only be taken away from me when it’s pried from my cold, dead, diabetes riddled hand…

    I haven’t weighed 178 since I was in high school… but then again, that’s just under the ideal weight for my height…

  4. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Are you back on WW? I was on it a few years ago and did well, but the meetings drove me crazy. Just wondering what method you use if you don’t mind saying…

  5. Pingback: Hope and Breakfast | The Cutter Rambles

  6. Pingback: My New Year’s Resolution | The Cutter Rambles

  7. Pingback: Hello Fresh, Goodbye Diet? | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

