Skipping a Day

Those of you who have been religiously following my progress through the Blogging From A to Z Challenge have probably noticed that I didn’t post anything yesterday.

The problem with trying to post something every day is that it tends to limit the length of each individual entry. Or if I do attempt to write something lengthier, I may not feel completely satisfied with the result. In particular, I felt that my post on evolution was lacking, and it would have been much better had I spent some additional time on it.

The entry I intended to post yesterday was similar to that one in both mood and length, and as the day crept on, I realized that I would have trouble completing it. I had three choices of what to do:

  1. Stay up late trying to finish – This didn’t seem like a wise move. I can’t always count on getting a good night’s sleep, so it doesn’t seem wise to voluntarily limit how much I get.
  2. Post something that wasn’t quite finished – I already made that mistake, so I didn’t want to post another entry that I wasn’t satisfied with.
  3. Say “screw it.”

Obviously, I went with option number three. Was this the right choice? Probably. At the very least, I’m not regretting getting some extra sleep.

Unfortunately, this means that I wasn’t able to complete the A to Z challenge. Ultimately, I think I’ll be okay with that. After all, I’m working a full-time job and taking care of three kids. If my blog sometimes get shortchanged in terms of time, that’s not the end of the world.

And back to CVS we go! (Image source

And back to CVS we go! (Image source

Actually, it’s a minor miracle I’m finishing today’s post, because the Cutlet has once again fallen ill with strep throat. I had to take her to the doctor this morning, and I’ve been attending to her this afternoon. (And yes, this is the second time in less than a month that she’s had strep. Hooray for parenthood!)

Unfortunately, this illness hasn’t rendered her sluggish and wanting to just lie around and watch television. Instead, she’s been in need of near-constant attention. Even putting on a Monster High movie didn’t keep her quiet for more than half an hour!

So for tomorrow, I had a mildly ambitious post in mind for the letter T. But if I end up just posting a series of Tweets (And that would totally count, right?), you’ll know the reason why.

This post has been part of the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge. In case you couldn’t tell, today’s letter was S and the topic was “Skipping.”

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness, The Cutlet and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Skipping a Day

  1. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Oh yeah, I do have to post today, don’t I? Dammit.

  2. Family ALWAYS comes first, right? So don’t feel bad, and, you haven’t failed in the Challenge! You’re still in there making it happen so be happy, and help your little one get well! Good luck and hope to see you at the finish line! Lisa, co-host AtoZ 2015, @ http://www.lisabuiecollard.com

Got Something to Say?

