The Outing

Every so often, I am left alone with the twins. On some of these occasions, I become oddly adventurous and decide to leave the house. The trips aren’t usually too ambitious, but when babies are involved, even short trips can be a bit of an endeavor.

To avoid disrupting their schedule as much as possible, outings have to be scheduled around the twins’ meals. Since this doesn’t provide much of a window, it is necessary to prepare in advance by loading up the diaper bag with two of just about anything a baby could possibly need.

Once it’s officially time, “all” I need to do is strap them into their car seats and load both car seats into the van. If I’m lucid enough, I’ll even check to see if the double Snap-n-Go stroller is in the van too. (There have been days when it wasn’t. Those were very sad days.)

Once I arrive at my destination, it’s just a matter of unfolding the stroller, removing both car seats from the van, snapping them into the frame, and we’re all set! Simple, right?

I’d like to say that at this point, the trip becomes a little less stressful. However, I often have to deal with the reactions of people who are shocked by seeing two babies at the same time.

It seems that many people can’t quite get a grip on the concept of twins. For instance, some people will stare in amazement or make comments like, “Look at that! Two at once! How did that happen?”

I usually refrain from explaining that I have an astronomically high sperm count. Usually.

Sometimes people want to learn more about the twin experience, and will pepper me with questions. The first question is almost always the same: “Are they identical?”

In all fairness, if I ever saw twins, that would probably be the first question I asked as well..presuming I don’t already know that the twins are different genders.

Babies can be rather androgynous, and when I have them in their stroller, it can be especially difficult to tell their genders. But if I respond that one baby is a boy and the other is a girl, please don’t follow up by asking, “Oh…but are they identical?”

Perhaps these are the infernal twins he was talking about?

Perhaps these are the infernal twins he was talking about?

That’s still probably better than the one guy who asked if they were “infernal twins.” I don’t think he understood why I laughed and said “Sometimes it feels that way.”

Others will make comments such as, “Twins, huh? You’ve got your hands full!” Thanks for pointing that out, buddy. Here I was thinking that this was going to be a breeze.

There are also the enthusiastic sorts who say, “You’re so lucky! I wish I could just take them home with me!” There are days when I’ve been more than a little tempted to fulfill their wish.

Perhaps my favorite reaction was from a little girl who pointed at us enthusiastically and shouted, “Dos bebes!” My Spanish may be a little rusty, but I’m pretty sure that means “two babies.”

Eventually, one (usually both) of the babies will get fussy, or I’ll be worn out from pushing around the double stroller. At that point, all I have to do is walk back to the van, load in the car seats, fold up the stroller, and drive home. And then, our big adventure is finally complete.

This post has been part of the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge. In case you couldn’t tell, today’s letter was T and the topic was “Twins.”

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Twins and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Outing

  1. betty says:

    Visiting from A/Z 🙂 Surely always an adventure with twins 🙂 Good for you though that you try to make the effort to get out with them. I’m sure it will be easier as they get older 😉

    betty

  2. It’s odd that you would get questions like that. I’ll bet nobody would ask someone who was walking two puppies “how that happened” and if they were twins…

    • The Cutter says:

      Twins are a curiosity. I can only imagine what parents of triplets get. Then again, I can’t imagine those parents are ever able to leave the house.

  3. hmccubbin says:

    Visiting from Lisa’s Live Wires from A to Z. I have a twin niece and nephew and some of the questions people ask are ridiculous. They obviously are so overwhelmed at the cuteness of your children (are they boys? girls? one of each?) they can’t think straight when they see you and them out together. I used to think I wanted a set of twins until I had one child then I bowed down to people who had two or more at once. You make it work, there really isn’t any other option.

    Thanks for the humorous post and best of luck!

    http://www.heathermccubbin.blogspot.com

Got Something to Say?

