Hope and Breakfast

Over the past few years, I had gradually begun to accept my fate. I came to realize that there would be a day in the not-too-distant future when I would eat my favorite breakfast cereal for the very last time. It seemed inevitable that the Post company would stop making Waffle Crisp, and once that happened, I would no longer be able to enjoy it’s sweet, syrupy goodness.

The greatest cereal of all time

The greatest cereal of all time

It has been quite a few years since the major grocery stores in my area sold Waffle Crisp. Shoppers Food Warehouse was the last to carry it, but eventually it disappeared from their shelves as well. It was sold at a small local chain called Magruders, but they eventually went out of business. (Hopefully that was just a coincidence!)

At least I had the internet. Waffle Crisp was sold on Amazon.com, and although it was rather pricey to buy it that way, when it comes to my favorite cereal, price was really no object. I would usually just put it on my wish list and have people buy it as a birthday present.

I realized that even that probably wouldn’t last forever. If the cereal wasn’t being carried by stores, how much longer would Post continue to make it? How long before Waffle Crisp joined the ranks of other extinct cereals like Buc Wheats or OJs?

Recently, I have been given reason to believe that the end is not as inevitable as I once thought. This glimmer of hope was given to me at a most unusual place: Walmart.

Every time I enter a new grocery store (or pretty much anyplace that sells cereal), I will check the cereal aisle to see if they have Waffle Crisp in stock. More often than not, I am left disappointed.

I had already checked at this particular Walmart, but with no specific shopping goal in mind, I figured it wouldn’t hurt to look again. And that’s when I saw this:

IMG_1591

Post Good Morenings Waffle Crunch?

My pulse began to quicken. Was it possible that I was looking at Waffle Crisp, but with a new name and box? Based on the picture, it certainly looked like Waffle Crisp. But would it taste the same?

Obviously, I had to buy a box, but believe it or not, I didn’t rush home to try it out. I was still on my diet at that point, and while it might be wonderful, Waffle Crisp isn’t exactly the best diet food out there. (I’ll pause for a few seconds while you admire my amazing self-restraint.)

That didn’t stop me from doing some research about Good Morenings. Apparently, that is Post’s “bargain cereal” line, and from all reports, the “Waffle Crunch” is indeed just Waffle Crisp in a different box.

This past weekend, with my diet being a thing of the past, I decided to finally verify if this new cereal was truly as great as Waffle Crisp. I prepared bowls for both the Cutlet and myself (If the Cutlet ever doubts my love, I want her to remember that I shared my precious, difficult-to-obtain favorite cereal with her), and prepared to dig in.

As soon as I took my first bite, a smile came over my face. There was no mistaking that delicious syrupy taste.

I still don’t know why anyone would think “Good Morenings” was a better name than Waffle Crisp. Did they feel that the presence of an anthropomorphic waffle on the box was limiting sales? Not that I really care. They could call it “Poop in a Box,” and as long as it still tastes like Waffle Crisp, I’ll still eat it.

I know that this may not last forever. Post may just as quickly end their Good Morenings line, or Walmart might decide that it isn’t selling well enough and decide to stop carrying it.

But this discovery makes it seem much less certain that the sad future I once envisioned will come to pass. Thanks to Walmart and Good Morenings Waffle Crunch, I have hope that I may not have to live in a world without my favorite cereal.

This post has been part of the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge. In case you couldn’t tell, today’s letter was W and the topic was “Waffle Crisp.”

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hope and Breakfast

  1. If they ever stop making Trix, I’ll probably go insane.

  2. Who knew there was so much one could write about Waffle Crisp?!? Admiring your amazing self-restraint, although somewhat short-lived.

    Props-n-Drops

  3. Nagzilla says:

    I feel your pain. I was a Kaboom and King Vitamin fan. Supposedly you can still get King Vitamin, but I’ve never seen it anywhere except Amazon. But Kaboom, sadly, is gone forever.

Got Something to Say?

