X-Men Movies, Ranked

For my “X” post, it was obvious that I’d been discussing the X-Men. Considering I read their comics regularly for over 20 years, I know quite a bit about everyone’s favorite fictional mutants. (I realize that calling them everyone’s favorite fictional mutants is somewhat of an overstatement since those ninja turtles have quite a few fans as well.)

I bought my first X-Men comic in the summer of 1989. Before then, my comic reading had been limited to titles like G.I.Joe and Spider-Man. But thanks to the mall bookstore’s employees not really caring if I stood around and read their comics, I was beginning to sample other titles as well.

I was becoming more and more intrigued by the X-Men. They were much different from the “kid friendly” comics I was used to. Finally, upon seeing this cover, I decided to finally purchase an issue.

Even at a young age, I recognized that Wolverine was the coolest of the X-Men. So I was more than intrigued how he could have wound up in such a precarious situation.

I ended up buying the next issue as well…and the issue after that…and the issue after that. X-Men soon became my favorite comic. Over the next twenty-some years, I think I may have missed maybe only one or two issues.

As you may have heard, the comics eventually were made into movies, and have become quite the successful film franchise. I’ll now take this opportunity to rank all of the X-Men movies from worst to best.

X-Men: The Last Stand

Ugh. They could have made this movie the end of the “Magneto trilogy,” or they could have made it about Dark Phoenix. Instead, they tried to do both and the result was a mess.

X-Men

I liked the movie when it came out, but I think that was mostly because I was just overjoyed to see the X-Men in movie form. However, I don’t think it has held up especially well.

The plot is kind of stupid, and the fight scenes are underwhelming. I realize that at this point in the franchise, they were trying to keep everyone’s powers within reasonable levels, but c’mon, this is the X-Men! Let’s see them actually let loose on each other.

X-Men Origins: Wolverine

On the other hand, I don’t think this one is as bad as most people think. It was kind of fun, and I actually liked Taylor Kitsch’s take on Gambit.

I actually thought the movie would have been a lot better had Wolverine actually been re-captured at the end. It would have been depressing, but it would have made more sense.

The Wolverine

Fun if non-essential.

X-Men: Days of Future Past

Before watching it, I thought I would enjoy the scenes in the future more than the scenes in the past. As I watched, I soon realized that the future fight was ultimately meaningless, and I began to switch my opinion.

Some people may be upset that the movie essentially “re-booted” the movie’s timeline, but after the crap that was “The Last Stand,” that was probably a smart move.

X-Men: First Class

A solid origin story highlighted by the great interaction between Charles Xavier and Magneto. I thought they did an excellent job giving the movie a “retro” feel.

X2: X-Men United

Although there are some flaws, this is the best movie in the franchise. It had that amazing opening sequence with Nightcrawler and gave people what they really wanted to see: Wolverine stabbing people with abandon.

This post has been part of the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge. In case you couldn’t tell, today’s letter was X and the topic was “X-Men.”

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Pop Culture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to X-Men Movies, Ranked

  1. List of X says:

    Don’t mind me – since today’s letter is X, I’m just putting more X’s into the likes and comments.
    But seriously, I had no idea they have made so many X-men movies already.

  2. Cyn K says:

    I loved X-Men First Class, so I’m pleased to see you rated it so highly.

Got Something to Say?

