I Didn’t Set My Fantasy Lineup Last Weekend

I play fantasy baseball, but I’m not doing very well this season. Part of the problem is that I usually neglect my team on the weekends. I don’t often update my lineup or make player transactions, or any of the other things that good fantasy players do.

I’d like to be able to update my fantasy team on the weekends. I’d also like to write, go to the gym, and maybe sit on the couch and relax. But it’s rare when an opportunity to do these things actually presents itself.

It seems like I should have plenty of time. Considering I typically wake up anywhere between 6 and 7 AM, there are quite a few hours until I go to bed. But weekends are strange; despite being awake for so much of the day, there’s very little time to get anything accomplished.

Take this past weekend for example. Saturday was the Cutlet’s birthday party for which we rented out the local splash park and had over 20 kids in attendance. (This extravagance merits a post of its own.) After a busy day of buying supplies, setting up, and running the party, Mrs. Cutter and I were exhausted, while our house was a mess of presents and leftover supplies.

At least the house didn't look this bad. (Image source)

At least the house didn’t look this bad. (Image source)

Before children (honestly, even in the days of just one child), we probably would have punted on the day. We likely would have slept in, and probably spent most of our time leisurely putting the house back in order. Unfortunately, we don’t have the ability to simply give away days like that anymore.

When I awoke on Sunday, I was dismayed to find that the magical cleaning fairy had not come by. I was also dismayed to find that the Cutlass – who had spent most of the previous day in a bad mood – wasn’t any happier. We’re not entirely sure why, but she spent most of the day crying.

Sunday morning was spent giving the twins their bottles, feeding them, changing them, and trying to entertain them in hopes that they might stop crying for a little bit. (Honestly, I feel bad blaming Cujo, since he was in a pretty good mood.) During the brief times when I could put them down, I tried to get things put away.

Nap time is usually the best opportunity to get household accomplished, but that was not the case on Sunday. In an attempt to eliminate one of their daily naps, we’ve been trying to push back their morning nap later in the day. Once I finally got them to sleep, the Cutlet asked if I would play with her.

I had lots of things I needed to get done, but my general attitude is that chores can wait, while childhood is fleeting. In a few years, what’s more important: A clean house, or that I got to spend some quality time with my daughter? Besides, it’s not like play time lasted all that long. About an hour later, despite the later start time, the Cutlass woke up ready to resume her crabby day.

The rest of the day was spent taking the children on a few errands (it’s not good for any of us to stay inside the house all day), mowing the lawn (we don’t want to be the neighborhood eyesore), and attempting to get things straightened up.

To our credit, we managed to get the house in acceptable working order by the end of the day. It’s possible that we might have had to step outside by ourselves just to get a brief break from the chaos. That break lasted about thirty seconds before the Cutlet came outside to ask if we were coming back.

So no fantasy lineup update this weekend. I didn’t get to write the blog post I had in mind either. I may have put some laundry through the cycle, but I didn’t get it put away. (And I still haven’t!) I suppose that can always wait until next weekend. I’m sure I’ll have plenty of time then.

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in The Cutlet, Twins and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Didn’t Set My Fantasy Lineup Last Weekend

  1. I don’t just follow you for your cool Gravatar. I follow you because you always remind me why I don’t have kids…

Got Something to Say?

