The Not Awful, but Could Have Been Better Four

I saw the movie Fantastic Four this weekend. While it certainly wasn’t one of the best superhero movies I’ve ever seen, I enjoyed watching it. Based on the reviews as well as the reactions of the people I saw it with, I was one of the few people who felt that way.

Reportedly, director Josh Trank was one of the people who didn’t like the movie. The rumors are that he wanted to make the movie one way, and executives from the studio forced several changes.

You can see what Trank was trying to do. He seemingly wanted to make the movie similar to one of his previous films, Chronicle. It looked like he wanted to make a somewhat dark movie about the Fantastic Four learning about and dealing with their powers.

At some point, Fox executives probably saw what he was doing and asked, “Um, where are the big special effects scenes?”

While Trank’s vision might have made for a good movie, I don’t know if it would have commercially viable. When people go to see movies based on Marvel comic books, they expect bright, fun movies with lots of big fights and special effects. Fantastic Four is often regarded as one of the more “fun” comic books around, so I’m not sure trying a darker tone was ever a great idea.

I will admit that the movie could have better. And after giving it some thought, I came up with a few ways in which it could have been improved.

Warning: The following contains spoilers and assumes that the reader has seen the movie.

Break up the origin story

By nature, superhero origin stories can be somewhat boring. The hero doesn’t usually gain his superpowers or become heroic until at least a third of the way in. Which means we spend a good chunk of the movie following the life of an ordinary human.

To avoid this problem, they could have broken up the linear structure of the movie a bit. Throughout the origin sequence, supply a few flash forwards of “government footage” of each of the Four using their powers in battle, so that we could have gotten a little taste of action.

Add some intrigue to the teleporter experiment

If you asked someone unfamiliar with the comic what this movie was about, they’d probably say it was about a group of scientists creating a teleporter. If that was going to be the focus, they should have added a bit of intrigue.

Perhaps they should have made the teleporter seem dangerous, and raised the question of whether or not they should be trying to use it at all. This role would have given Sue Storm something more to do than provide a slight point of conflict between Reed Richards and Victor Von Doom. She could have been wary of using the teleporter, mainly because she knows something that the others do not. (More on this later)

Don’t make Doctor Doom the villain

In the comics, the Fantastic Four’s arch-villain is Doctor Doom. So it makes sense that

they’d want to make him the team’s primary villain. But from what I’ve read, fans of DD are understandably unhappy about his portrayal in the movie.

I actually liked the portrayal of Doom in the first half. He was an arrogant young scientist who had a temper and a slight rivalry with Reed Richards. But making him into a telekenetic zombie who wants to destroy Earth? That doesn’t exactly sync with the traditional portrayal of Doom.

After they use the teleporter, don’t have Victor get trapped in the other dimension. Instead, have him return with the others, but after the explosion, he vanishes. He is presumed dead, but the body is never found. (Setting up the sequel of course!)

So then who is the villain?

In the first half of the movie, there should be several hints that this isn’t the first time Franklin Storm has tried to visit the other dimension. (Hence Sue’s hesitance to repeat the experiment) Eventually, the entire story is revealed.

Perhaps

Perhaps “Mole Man” doesn’t seem like the most intimidating villain (Image source)

Storm used to partner with a man named Arthur Molekevich (Known in the comics as Mole Man). Molekevich was concerned with the way Earth’s resources were being consumed, and hoped that the experiment would give them ideas as to how they could reverse the damage.

Storm and Molekevich successfully created a teleporter, and visited the other dimension. It should be implied that the energy there affected Molekevich. He then became paranoid  and convinced that the government was just going to destroy another world. As a result, he destroyed most of the group’s research, and transported himself to the other dimension, leaving no way for anyone to follow him.

When Reed, Johnny, Ben, and Victor travel to the other dimension, they encounter Molekevich. He tells them that he’s been infused with the world’s power and it has allowed him to create life. The four become worried when Molekevich conjures up various monster-like creatures who obey his command. When they attempt to leave, Molekevich tries to stop them, and that results in the explosion that grants them their powers.

Molekevich realizes that now that the teleporter has been rebuilt, people aren’t going to stop coming. He decides the only way to save his new world is by destroying Earth.

In my opinion, that would tie in with the overall theme of the movie better than having Doom simply go insane.

Don’t forget the team dynamic

If you’re going to make a movie about a super hero team, then you’ve got to actually show them come together and work as a team. That aspect was sorely missing from the movie.

What do you think? Would those changes have made the movie better? Or would it still be savaged by reviewers?

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Pop Culture and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Not Awful, but Could Have Been Better Four

  1. djmatticus says:

    Thanks for the review. I haven’t seen it yet, and was planning on waiting until I could redbox it. I’m thinking that is still the best course of action.

  2. Green Embers says:

    Not having seen it, I can’t say if it would actually make it better or not, but I do like the sound of your changes. I really like the idea of removing the origin story and starting at a later point. I think I will give this movie a rental when available.

  3. NotAPunkRocker says:

    This is going to have to wait until I can see it on Netflix, but your review may be the kindest one I have read so far.

  4. All right I’m going to be honest, I haven’t actually read your post on this yet, but I am bookmarking it to come back to. I haven’t seen the movie yet, and I plan to this weekend, even though every person I know who has seen it has told me not to waste my time. The thing is, I always have to see every movie for myself, even if I know it’s bad. (I even sat through the entirety of Daredevil in the theater!) My plan is to get really drunk before I go. Then I’m going to write my own blog about it, (while still drunk probably) and come back to read yours, to see how our posts compare!

  5. Had to stop reading, but ONLY because I don’t want spoilers. After I see the movie, I’ll come back and finish and discuss. I like your treatment of the movie in comparison to the comic.

  6. Jay says:

    Your title alone is maybe the most positive thing I’ve heard about this movie!

  7. I hadn’t heard of this movie either, but I saw the earlier version that was super stupid. Mostly I recall them just messing around with their powers like jerks through most of that movie, rather than really fighting something. Like Mr. Fantastic twisting himself around and this somehow being popular with the ladies because . . . I don’t want to think about it. And Sue constantly losing her clothing to turn invisible cause ooh hot blond! So I’m guessing no matter how bad it is, it’s probably better than the other one? I never read the comic, so I’m just guessing the heroes aren’t that moronic.

Got Something to Say?

