The 31 Days of Blogging: The Force Awakens Again, I Guess?

A couple of months ago, I decided that I was going to break from my annual tradition of posting something on every day of December. I figured that I barely have enough time to write something once a week, so if I attempted to post every day, I was just setting myself up for failure.

Long time readers will recognize that I write something similar every year on December 1st. A week or so later, I realized that if I could go 31-for-31 during last year’s hectic days, there was really little excuse for not being able to do it again this year. And so, for the fifth straight year, we begin The 31 Days of Blogging!

31DaysOfBlogging

Every year I discuss something Star Wars related on the first of the month. This year, that task is made somewhat easier as a new Star Wars movie will be released this month. (You might have heard about it?) Last year, I discussed the first teaser trailer. This year, thanks to new trailers and plenty of rumors, there’s more to debate.

While some readers out there might not be fans of his, I think J.J. Abrams, Disney, and whoever else is responsible for this movie have been rather clever in their handling of Luke Skywalker.

Although he is the main protagonist of the original trilogy, in terms of popularity, I’d say Luke ranks behind Han Solo, Darth Vader, and maybe even Chewbacca. People like Luke well enough – heck, some of us even dress our children in his costume for Halloween – but he has never carried the same fanboy love as the others.

Luke_Skywalker

Through his absence, Luke has become the center of the marketing campaign. (Image source)

So naturally, Luke has been completely absent from the marketing. We know that (unless Disney is playing an elaborate prank on Mark Hamill) he’s in the new movie, but he hasn’t appeared in any of the trailers or on the poster. This has led to quite a bit of speculation about his role. Do the new heroes have to find him? Has he gone evil? Is he dead and will only appear in ghost form ala Obi Wan?

It’s created quite a buzz. Now, instead of, “Oh good, Luke’s back. That’s nice I suppose,” people are saying, “Where is Luke? Why isn’t Luke being shown? DEAR GOD, WHERE IS LUKE????”

I think some long-time fans are going to be a little disappointed with the new movies since I’m getting somewhat of a “90210 reboot” vibe. Remember when the CW brought back 90210 about ten years ago? Sure, Brenda and Kelly were there, but that was mostly to provide a tenuous link to the original show. The new show was really about a group of high schoolers who had little connection to the old cast.

90210-90210-2952805-1280-1024

It’s all your favorites like…um, skanky girl! And token black character! (Image source)

Based on the The Force Awakens trailers, we know that Han and Leia are going to be in the movie, but it’s also clear that new characters like Finn and Rey are going to be the real stars. It wouldn’t shock me if one – or more – of the old group meets his demise in this one.

It’s not like that’s going to keep me from seeing it though. I saw Episode I in the theater three (!) times, and that movie was not very good at all.

Of course, that’s with the benefit of hindsight. When I first saw Episode I, I thought it was okay. It was disappointing, but considering the immense expectations, we were bound to be at least a little disappointed by it. But time has not been kind to the film, especially with all the people who have pointed out just how insanely flawed the movie was.

Will the new movie leave fans feeling similarly disappointed? Or will Abrams and Disney revive the franchise? We’ll find out in just a few weeks. (Chances are that one of the posts this month will be a review of the movie.)

As for the Cutter Rambles, will I be able to live up to expectations and go 31 for 31? Will the pressure of writing something every day detract from the quality of each post? I hope you stop by every day to find out!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Pop Culture and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The 31 Days of Blogging: The Force Awakens Again, I Guess?

  1. Squinty says:

    It doesn’t matter. JJ Abrams will just have this take place in an alternate universe. He’s a one trick pony.

    • The Cutter says:

      So are you even going to bother to see it?

    • I don’t care for Abram’s either, after what he did to Star Trek. And I’m not an obsessed fan girl – I just – he just – crap that movie was so awful with the worst possible Captain Kirk EVER and just – it was bad.

    • The Cutter says:

      I liked the Star Trek movies! What you got against Chris Pine?

    • Oh I think he’s a fine actor – in other movies. And it’s not really his fault -the writing is just bad and they make him act like such an ass – I mean worse than Shatner’s Kirk, and that’s saying a lot.

      Also they totally bypassed the entire 4 year Academy, didn’t even do a medical clearance on the guy, and then promoted him to captain because – why again? Abrams mixed it up with Star Wars where people got promoted because war and everyone was dead. Star Trek was a different kind of show, and he made it space cowboy. Okay maybe I am a Trek nerd after all – but that part just BUGGED me. I did like their choice for Spock – spot on in appearance but the crap about blowing up Vulcan . . . uh I should probably stop now, lol.

  2. 1jaded1 says:

    I hope this movie is good. Episodes 1-3 left me bored and angry. Good luck making the 31 days.

  3. I admit the teasers have got me curious, despite my misgivings. But my eldest daughter and I want to see the last Hunger Games movie (I think the series is incredible, so knock it at your own risk ;)) so one opening day or soon after my youngest and my husband will beta test the movie for me, while my eldest and I watch Katniss go bananas some more.

    Also – while I like Han Solo, I always loved Luke. I thought he was awesome with the way he changed over those three movies from whiny twit to serious Jedi. Supposedly Harrison Ford hates the character of Han (cause he just gave him his first big role that started his very lucrative career) so I wouldn’t be surprised if he’s killed off in this movie.

  4. it’s funny that even though I work at a place that is actively promoting the movie, I am only vaguely aware there is going to be a new Star Wars coming up…

  5. The Hook says:

    I don’t know what to expect from the new Star Wars trilogy… but I can’t wait!

  6. Pingback: Trailers, Trailers Everywhere! | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

