Awesomely Obscure Songs: Guns N’ Roses – Bad Apples

Throughout the month, I will feature songs which I have always liked, but for whatever reason, never became big hits. Some of them are by famous artists, some are from lesser-known musical acts.

Guns N’ Roses – Bad Apples

Guns N’ Roses definitely falls into the “famous artist” category. While they might not have a prolific recent catalog, it’s tough to deny their legendary status. Their dual Use Your Illusion albums produced a number of hits; four songs from UYI1 alone received a good deal of play on MTV.  So why wasn’t Bad Apples one of them?

While it is probably my favorite song off the album, it may not be all that different from many of the others. It’s hard rocking, but there are plenty of other hard rocking songs to be found.  Is this one THAT much better than either Don’t Damn Me or Bad Obsession? Perhaps that plethora of strong songs is why I’ve always preferred UYI1 over UYI2.

Of course GNR hasn’t released many songs obscure or not in recent years. I’m hoping that these recent rumors are true, and we might soon get more hits.

In the meantime, please enjoy Bad Apples!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Pop Culture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Awesomely Obscure Songs: Guns N’ Roses – Bad Apples

  1. I am an extremely weird creature in that the one slice of the entire rock and roll era I probably know the least about happens to be my high school years. It helps that I hate most of it as well… including almost all early 90’s GnR.

    • The Cutter says:

      That is strange. High school is usually the music we’re most nostalgic for

    • It didn’t help that I listened solely to oldies music during my high school and college years. A glaring example of my early 90’s music black hole is that Kurt Cobain’s death was the first I’d ever heard of him or his band Nirvana. My only knowledge that grunge even existed came from the list of bands on the backs of those Lollapalooza shirts everyone wore in high school back then…

    • The Cutter says:

      Wow. Never heard of Nirvana? I don’t know how that’s possible

Got Something to Say?

