Trailers, Trailers Everywhere!

If there’s one thing in this world that I love, it is early ’90s rap music. But if there’s two things in the world I love, it is early ’90s rap music and movie trailers!

I’m admittedly a huge sucker for trailers. You could get me to think, “Hey that looks pretty good!” about just about any movie given a quality trailer. (Even Twilight? ESPECIALLY Twilight!) Apparently this is the time of year when the movie studios start releasing trailers for next summer’s would-be blockbusters, so this has been a pretty exciting month for me.

Here’s a rundown of some of the more prominent ones:

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows

Bonus points for the use of “It’s Tricky” by RUN-DMC. Remember, using a fun song in the trailer is a great way to get people excited about the movie. For example, let’s check out the trailer for Deadpool that came out a few months ago:

They used both “Shoop” by Salt-N-Pepa and “X Gonna Give it to You” by DMX, so I was instantly pumped. Although now that I think about it, does the fact that they had to use two pop songs mean they’re compensating for something?

I saw the first TMNT (by “first one,” I mean the first one since they re-booted the series) on DVD and thought it was okay. It was stupid fun that didn’t completely ruin my childhood like the Transformers franchise did. Was I clamoring for a sequel? Of course not, but they’re finally giving the fans what they really want: Bebop and Rocksteady!

Remember how in the awful TMNT 2: Secret of the Ooze they featured two mutant enemies who weren’t Bebop and Rocksteady? Fans were pissed, and if not for the heroics of one Robert Van Winkle, that might have gone down as the worst movie of all time. Even with Vanilla, it was still a pretty awful movie.

It also looks like there are aliens in this one. Does this mean we’re also going to get Krang? If this movie features Bebop, Rocksteady, AND Krang, then all the other studios might as well pack up shop, because this is going to be the big winner of the summer.

Star Trek Beyond

This trailer features the Beastie Boys, so we’re two-for-two with these trailers using songs that I like.

I’ve never been a massive Trekkie, but I’ve liked both post-re-boot Star Trek movies. Neither was tops on my “must see” list, but I thought both were enjoyable enough. (I know some haters out there might disagree with me.)

In all honesty, my enjoyment of the second one may have mostly been because I left work afternoon to go see it, and nobody even noticed I was gone. It’s okay though; I don’t work for that company anymore.

Typically, sequels either use a numerical designation (which is tough to do with a re-booted franchise), or a colon and subtitle. (Like TMNT: Out of the Shadows for example.) Sometimes, like with Avengers 2: Age of Ultron, they do both! Star Trek has eschewed these techniques and simply tacked on the subtitle to the end of the franchise name.

Can any Trek fans tell me who the bad guys are in this one? I’m sure those white aliens have shown up before in one of the TV series, but they aren’t ringing a bell for me. I’m just kind of surprised they’re not using the Borg in this one. We all accept that the new cast is going to fight the Borg at some point, right?

X-Men: Apocalypse

Unlike Star Trek, the X-Men series has been going with the colon designation for their sequels. And unlike the previous two trailers, they have not used a catchy nostalgic pop song to frame the action. Will this ultimately hurt the movie’s performance? Time will tell.

This movie supposedly wraps up the “First Class” trilogy, and since I’ve enjoyed the first two movies in the series, I have high hopes for this one. I am slightly worried that they’re introducing too many characters at once. Technically, we’ve already seen Cyclops, Jean Grey, Storm, and Nightcrawler before, but this is the first appearance of their younger versions who will then theoretically star in new X-Men movies yet to come.

Captain America: Civil War

Captain America: The Winter Soldier was probably my favorite of the Marvel movies so far. As I’ve mentioned, the real key to that movie’s success was that all of the characters were constantly doing somersaults. Based on the looks of things, we’ll get even more flipping action in this one!

Based on all the characters that will be appearing in this movie, many people are speculating that this is essentially Avengers 2.5. Does this mean that Captain America will be overshadowed in his own movie? That’s probably a good thing since Cap has never been the most interesting character in the Avengers movies.

Although it hasn’t been officially announced, it is all but certain that Spider-Man will be appearing in this movie. At first I thought they might try to keep it a secret, but then I remembered how Hollywood works. Pretty much every detail is released ahead of time, so there’s no real use in hiding information. (Which makes the whole “No Luke” phenomenon even more amazing.)

My guess is that Spidey makes an appearance in the next trailer, probably in a climactic shot near the end. And since this is Spider-Man, there’s a decent chance that he will be doing a somersault or flip of some sort.

Independence Day: Resurgence

Independence Day was a strange movie. Much of the planet was destroyed, a lot of people died, but we felt happy about it because Will Smith was making jokes the whole time.

Back in the day, ID4 was a pretty big deal. We hadn’t gotten too many large-scale disaster movies like this one before that, (Director Roland Emmerich has since based an entire career on it) so it was kind of unique to see the White House get destroyed.

Now that twenty(!) years have passed, it seemed unlikely that we’d get a sequel, but I guess it kind of makes sense to ask what would happen if the aliens came back. It is also interesting to see what effect the first movie had on the planet. Thankfully, the makers of the film have put together a companion website which helps fill in the blanks (including why Will Smith’s character isn’t in this one).

People have pointed out that if the battle actually played out the way it did in the movies, the aliens would have ultimately conquered Earth. But I’m guessing the producers have tried to ignore that bit of logic.

Looks like there will be plenty of sci-fi/comic book movies to choose from next summer. I don’t get out all that often, but I’m sure I’ll catch at least a couple of them. Which movies are you guys looking forward to in 2016?

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Pop Culture and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trailers, Trailers Everywhere!

  1. I didn’t like the Turtles the first time they came around. Seeing the mess they’ve morphed into lately almost makes me feel nostalgic for the late 80’s set…

Got Something to Say?

