Awesomely Obscure Songs: Dadi Was a Badi

Throughout the month, I am featuring songs which I have always liked, but for whatever reason, never became big hits. Some of them are by famous artists, some are from lesser-known musical acts.

Dadi Was a Badi – Black Grape

In high school, my friend was really into British rock. While I was generally indifferent to most of the stuff he listened to, I did enjoy the work of the group Black Grape.

For my 21st birthday, I received a copy of the band’s second (and final) album Stupid Stupid Stupid. As I listened to the CD as a whole for the first time, I remember thinking, “Wow, this is a really good album.” This is really somewhat surprising since the musical style isn’t really in my “wheel house.”

My favorite from the album is “Dadi Was a Badi.” It’s not really that superior to the other songs on the album, but it probably best epitomizes the style of both the group and the album.

Black Grape’s debut album “It’s Great When You’re Straight…Yeah” reached #1 on the UK charts, but didn’t make much headway in America. The follow-up wasn’t as successful, even though I consider it to be a superior album. Since I’m not British, I can’t really speak for their taste in music.

As for why it didn’t become a hit in the U.S., I imagine that the Brit pop niche was already being suitably filled by Oasis at the time. Since we know that musical acts from foreign countries are similar to Highlanders, there was simply no room for Black Grape.

What do you think? Should Dadi Was a Badi have been a hit or does it deserve its obscure status?

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Pop Culture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Awesomely Obscure Songs: Dadi Was a Badi

  1. That was actually pretty good! I’d have much rather listened to something like that than Oasis, who sucked ass…

    I’m 3 for 4 on your obscure songs. If only you hadn’t gone with the GnR…

  2. fishhawk says:

    The Cutter Rambles has been included in our A Sunday Drive for this week. Be assured that we hope this helps to point even more new visitors in your direction.

    http://asthecrackerheadcrumbles.blogspot.com/2015/12/a-sunday-drive_27.html

Got Something to Say?

