Awesome Stuff: New Year’s Eve (as a Child)

Even though tonight is New Year’s Eve, Mrs. Cutter and I will likely spend it the same way we do most nights: Eating dinner, putting the kids to bed, watching a little bit of television, and then going to sleep well before midnight.

I wasn’t always this unenthused by the holiday. In fact, New Year’s Eve used to be one of the highlights of my year.

When I was in grade school, my parents would throw a NYE party, and some of my friends would come along with their parents. It was great. We overindulged in food and soda, watched movies and New Years specials, and played video games. Perhaps most importantly, I’d get to stay up well past midnight, which was a rare thrill.

It’s hard to believe that staying up until 2 AM used to seem like a treat. These days, that sounds like a perverse punishment.

NYE lost its luster when I became a teenager. Staying up late wasn’t such a unique experience anymore, and the concept of a party didn’t seem so exciting if girls weren’t involved.

It wasn’t long before my parents grew tired of throwing a party too. One year, we went to Disney World for the week, but aside from that, none of my NYE celebrations have been all that memorable.

Partying on New Year's Eve wasn't as exciting as I had hoped. (Image source)

Partying on New Year’s Eve wasn’t as exciting as I had hoped. (Image source)

I had high hopes for NYE in 1998. I thought that being able to drink legally might make the night seem more exciting, but I quickly discovered that going to a bar on NYE was better in theory than reality. I spent a decent amount of money (Okay, it was only $50, but that was a lot for a college student) to go to an overcrowded club (Polly Esther’s in Philadelphia) where it was near impossible to get drinks from the open bar. As I nearly got trampled trying to get my coat from the coat check, I decided that I would just as soon stay home the next year.

While I can’t imagine NYE ever feeling too special for me again, perhaps one day I can experience a vicarious thrill through my children. Maybe in a few years, we’ll throw a party at our house and have some of their friends come over. Hopefully they’ll be as excited as I once was to have a big celebration where they get to stay up late and watch TV with their friends.

For those of you who have big plans for tonight, may you enjoy your evening as much as nine-year-old me once did! And for those of you without big plans, may you start off the year with a good night’s sleep!

Happy new year!!!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Awesome Stuff, Trips and Events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Awesome Stuff: New Year’s Eve (as a Child)

  1. You’re right that NYE certainly lost its luster once I was able to stay up late every night. Now I’m ready to celebrate the opportunity to go to bed early.

  2. Yep. The shine wore off for me by the time I was about 14. It was fun while it lasted.

  3. 1jaded1 says:

    As a teen, NYE meant offering my babysitting services to the highest bidder to parents who liked to go out. After that, zzzzz. Happy New Year.

    • The Cutter says:

      This is a big reason why our NYEs have been so lame lately. We have yet to encounter potential plans that make paying those kind of babysitting rates seem worth it

  4. I like a nice quiet night – got the beef tenderloin and wine ready to go. Happy New Year to you and all the Cutters.

  5. The major NYE thrill for me as a kid was listening to the year end countdown on the pop radio station every year in the 80’s. That died when grunge (and GnR) killed off the old Top 40 format in the early 90’s. Then my only thrill became watching the year change on one of those local access channels that had the time on it. I’ve worked during five NYE’s, which had the benefit of keeping me out of the line of stray gunfire. All that said, though, I’ve always been awake at midnight on NYE… some traditions never die…

    Anyway, Happy New Year Cutter! May the twins let you sleep all night long…

  6. List of X says:

    Happy new year! Staying up late has never been a big deal for me, since I rarely go to bed before midnight anyway. But i do enjoy a good NY party – which, however, is probably not happening for the next few years.

  7. susielindau says:

    I can’t believe we made it until midnight! We watched a couple of movies and missed the countdown by seconds. Ha!
    Happy New Year!

  8. Pingback: My New Year’s Resolution | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

