My New Year’s Resolution

I hope everyone enjoyed their New Year’s Eve celebration! My night was as quiet as predicted. The good news is that the children – with the exception of one late-night wake up – slept late this morning and woke up happy. So the year is off to a pretty good start.

I’m sure many bloggers will be posting their New Year’s resolutions today; at the risk of seeming unoriginal, I’m going to do the same.

There are a few things I’d like to change in the new year. Like many people, I’d definitely like to lose weight. I started off the year overweight, and despite a few fluctuations, I ended the year the same way. I’m not saying that I’m a huge blob or anything, but ideally, I’d be ten pounds later.

Losing weight is easier said than done. Between a heavy workload at the job, and parenting responsibilities at home, it’s tough finding time to get to the gym. Perhaps I need to sign up for another race or athletic contest so I have some extra motivation.

I should also make a point to eat better, but trying to deal with three children often leaves me just grabbing whatever I can find to stuff into my mouth. And as I’ve discussed before, the plethora of snacks available at the office isn’t helping matter much. So we’ll list the whole weight thing as a “nice to have” resolution.

Who can resist such temptation? (Image source)

Who can resist such temptation? (Image source)

There is one thing I do definitely hope to improve on in 2016. Like many Americans, I spend a lot of time looking at my smartphone. I’d like to claim that I’m doing so for important work purposes, but most of the time, I’m just checking Facebook, or making some sort of (assuredly witty) Tweet. This is problematic in itself, but it’s worse for me, because the time I spend looking at my phone is often time that I’m not interacting with my children.

Unfortunately, breaking a smartphone addiction is easier said than done. If it’s in my pocket, I’m going to be tempted to whip it out every time I get a free second. So when I arrive home from work, I’m going to make a point to put it away, and not retrieve it until the children are all in bed.

I know there will be times when I’ll be sorely tempted to just take one tiny peek at the phone, but I have to remember that the internet isn’t going anywhere. Those clickbait stories and hilarious Tweets will still be there later.

My hope is that by avoiding the phone, it will make the time I spend with my children that much more rewarding. Wish me luck!

How about you? Do you have any New Year’s Resolutions? Are you optimistic about keeping them?

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Randomness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My New Year’s Resolution

  1. I would imagine smartphone addiction is just like smoking… the best way to quit is to never start. That worked for me…

    Weight loss I can’t give you any advice on. I’ve got about two extra bowling balls on my frame, and I don’t even care anymore. Pass the snacks…

  2. I am working on getting healthier. It’s working so far. We’ll see. Good luck on your resolutions!

Got Something to Say?

