A is for AC/DC

For the second straight year, I am going to participate in the Blogging From A to Z Challenge.

If you are unfamiliar with the challenge (or too lazy to follow the link), here are the general rules: Each day of April (excluding Sundays), we write about a topic beginning with a different letter. April 1st’s post should have a topic beginning with A, April 2nd’s should begin with B, and so on.

Last year, I was 25 for 26 (including one day that I re-blogged something), which is pretty good, but I’ll try to be perfect this time around.

I needed a good A topic, and I didn’t want to be lazy and just use “April.” (If I’m going to write 26 posts this month, I’m sure laziness will come into play, but I didn’t want to start out that way.) If I’m going to write 26 posts this month, I’m going to need some musical inspiration. And it just so happens that the name of the band I’m going to turn to for that inspiration begins with an A!

I decided to talk about the rock band AC/DC. One time in college, one of my friends went on a bit of a drunken rant about the virtues of the band. His basic point was this: When you listen to AC/DC, you know what you’re going to get: A bad ass song that rocks.

220px-Acdc_logo_band.svgHe was right. AC/DC isn’t going to give you a whiny love song, and they’re not going to help you get in touch with your feelings. The song is going to be loud and hard; the type of music you’d want to listen to while doing 80 MPH on an open highway.

Despite the band having two prominent lead singers in its history, there aren’t that many heated debates as to which one was better. Fans of Van Halen will often have strong opinions on David Lee Roth versus Sammy Hagar (I’m Team Hagar all the way!), but you don’t often see the same intensity discussing Bon Scott and Brian Johnson.

Part of the reason is probably because Scott died rather than being fired. (He was actually a fan of Johnson’s)  The other reason is that the two men sound almost identical, and the band’s style wasn’t forced to change with the switch.

But you can decide for yourself. Here are the videos for “Highway to Hell” and “Moneytalks.”

 

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Pop Culture and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A is for AC/DC

  1. Tarkabarka says:

    When my little sister was a baby, she freaking loved AC/DC. She would laugh in the car, and then fall asleep, but she would wake up if we turned it off… 😀
    Happy A to Z!

    @TarkabarkaHolgy from
    The Multicolored Diary
    MopDog

  2. I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks Bon and Brian sound the same… I’ve taken a lot of crap from AC/DC fans who believe they’re very distinct sounding. I wasn’t even aware the band had two different lead singers until they were inducted into the R&RHoF 12 or so years ago and that’s when I first learned about Bon Scott’s existence (Even though I already knew a lot of the AC/DC songs from his era, I assumed Johnson sang them all)…

    • The Cutter says:

      Really? I thought most people accepted that they sounded alike.

    • Apparently, there are even snobby connoisseurs of sore throat sounding heavy metal wailers…

      BTW, if VH1-Classic is to be believed, supposedly Bon Scott first became a fan of Brian Johnson’s when he saw Brian’s band in concert for the first time and loved his screaming/wildman act. Scott had no idea Johnson was actually having an appendicitis attack on stage and that madness wasn’t part of the act…

  3. Great topic! Have fun with this A to Z – I think the topic points to that!

    Happy A to Z – ing!
    Ninga Minion @YolandaRenee from
    Defending The Pen
    Parallels
    Murderous Imaginings

  4. Blathering says:

    The first I heard of Bon Scott was when I saw “R.I.P Bon Scott” written on the school bag of a girl a year older than myself. I had no idea what it meant at the time. There may not be rivalry amongst fans about who is the better lead man, but my brother often quotes a friend of his, who reckons that rather than divide generations into Baby Boomers, Gen X, etc, it makes more sense to talk about the Bon Scott generation v the Brian Johnson generation!

  5. I was never into AC/DC, my musical tastes have always been atypical, perhaps because of my autism spectrum disorder. As a teen I loved polka music, and now, because of Internet radio, I’ve expanded into German, Serbian and Croatian pop and folk music.
    But I enjoyed your post, and admit I enjoy the song Highway to Hell, especially since that’s my nickname for the road in front of my house (deep potholes, not sure if they are that deep.)
    Anyway, glad to meet you. And so glad the AC/DC didn’t refer to electrician stuff instead of the band.

Got Something to Say?

