Ash vs. Evil Dead

Earlier this year, I was browsing through the Verizon FiOS channel guide when I noticed that the premium cable channel Starz was offering a week-long free preview. At first, I was unimpressed with their content. They were showing a variety of movies from the past few years (I turned on Avengers: Age of Ultron for a few minutes before I remembered that the movie wasn’t all that good) as well as a few original series. None of the shows appealed to me, with one major exception: Ash vs. Evil Dead.

640px-Ash-vs-Evil-Dead_logoFor those unfamiliar with the show, it is a continuation of Sam Raimi’s Evil Dead trilogy of movies from the 80’s/early 90’s. Since I greatly enjoyed those movies, I queued up the pilot episode and was instantly hooked. I caught a few more episodes over the next couple of days, but the free preview ended before I could finish the season.

I was tempted to order Starz for a month just so that I could finish out the series, but apparently, the cable gods were on my side. A few days later, I received notice that Verizon was offering a free 48 hour preview of any of their premium channels.

When I shared the good news with Mrs. Cutter, she excitedly asked, “Ooh, so can we get HBO?” I informed her that we wouldn’t be doing that, and she’d have to continue to “borrow” a friend’s HBO GO account if she wanted to watch Game of Thrones. I proceeded to sign up for 48 hours worth of Starz, so that I could power through the remainder of the season.

Like many things in my life, the presence of small children made this more difficult. I try to limit how much television my children watch, and when I can help it, I don’t let them watch shows where the protagonist frequently uses a chainsaw to cut the heads off of zombies. Fortunately, I was able to sneak away from them long enough to finish up the series.

You may be asking yourself: Would I enjoy this show? To determine that, answer the following questions:

  1. Did I enjoy the Evil Dead movies?
  2. Am I a Lucy Lawless completist?
  3. Do I like watching people attacking zombies with chainsaws?
Groovy! (Image source)

Groovy! (Image source)

If the answer to either of those question is yes, then you would likely enjoy this show. Original star Bruce Campbell comes back, and the show mostly captures the same tone as the movies, striking a balance between horror and comedy.

Now I only have to worry about what to do when season two airs in September. Should I wait for it to come out on DVD? Should I hope that fate smiles on me and provides another free preview? Or should I take the insanely drastic step of actually paying money to watch a show that I enjoy?

This post has been part of the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge. In case you couldn’t tell, today’s letter was E and the topic was “Evil Dead”

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Pop Culture and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ash vs. Evil Dead

  1. I’ve never even heard of the original movies. But at work last week, all the talk over The Walking Dead got someone to ask the same question I’ve wondered for years… what is it with the zombie fascination lately? I don’t get it…

Got Something to Say?

