I Am Not My Brother/I Am Not My Sister

The Cutlass woke up early this morning. Lately, Cujo has been the more frequent early riser, but he was apparently tired today. Fortunately, I was able to get the Cutlass out of her crib without waking him up. Often times, when one is awake before the other, I’m not so lucky.

Cujo wasn’t very hungry at lunch time. The Cutlass ate at least a little bit of everything I put in front of her, but Cujo rejected everything besides the fruit, and he didn’t have very much of that.

The Cutlass is on antibiotics. We noticed her eye was snotty for a few days, and the doctor confirmed that she had pinkeye. So four times a day, we need to put drops in her eye. She’s been surprisingly okay with the process. We’re hoping that her brother doesn’t start leaking out the eye, because we have a feeling that he might not be so receptive.

At nap time, the Cutlass seemed tired, but Cujo – likely due to his later wake-up time, didn’t show much inclination to sleep. Unfortunately, whether she liked it or not, the Cutlass wasn’t going to sleep immediately, because it can be tough to sleep when the person you share a room with won’t stop talking to you.

When we went into their room to wake them up, the Cutlass sprung up immediately. Cujo continued to snore away.

At dinner, he liked the matzoh ball soup, but hated the gefilte fish. She enjoyed the carrots, but didn’t try much of anything else. Both liked the cake.

The Cutlass wanted to play in the backyard. Cujo wanted to play in the basement. Cujo wanted to look at pictures. The Cutlass wanted to read a book.

I realize that we’re not giving either of you exactly what you need. For better or worse, there will always be times when you’re treated as a unit rather than individual people. We need to do what’s best for both of you, even if that isn’t best for either of you.

I just hope that in the end, you each get what you need.

This post has been part of the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge. In case you couldn’t tell, today’s letter was T and the topic was “Twins.”

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Twins and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Am Not My Brother/I Am Not My Sister

  1. I like your writing, and this one is one of your best. It’s simple, but so very honest. It’s hard to come up with A-Z topics without just phoning it in, and this one is stellar. Wonderful, wonderful post.

  2. Pingback: Mama Cooked a Breakfast with No Hog | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

