A Very Special Visit From Michael Bublé

Only a few more weeks until election day! It can’t come soon enough, because the longer this process goes on, the more pessimistic I’ve become about the future of America. It seems hard for me to believe that so many people support a man who seems to not only be tremendously unqualified for the presidency, but seems to be an awful human being to boot.

As it turns out, maybe his awfulness is exactly why he has so much support. It feels like this election – and Trump in particular – have made it obvious just how many people in this country have racist and bigoted views.

So what are you going to do? Move to Canada?

What the? Is that…

Yes, it’s me, pop superstar Michael Bublé!

What are you doing here? We usually only talk on Christmas.

I know, but I have something important to say, and it can’t wait until Christmas.

And so the Christmas season begins even earlier! (Not that I’m complaining!) But anyway, what’s on your mind?

You were talking about the election, and I agree: It feels like America is pretty divided; even more than usual in election years.

Sigh…I know. I wrote about that a couple of years ago, and it feels like things are getting worse.

Did you consider that you might be part of the problem?

Huh? I’m a part of the problem? How?

I know, you think you’re accepting of other ideas and I believe you are…to a point. The problem may be that you don’t know what you don’t know. For example, Hillary Clinton famously declared many of Trump’s supporters to be “deplorables.” Do you agree with that?

I do think that there are a lot of bad people who support Trump. The alt-right, Ku Klux Klan, neo-Nazis…

I’m not going to tell you that there aren’t evil people in the world. But to automatically assume that all Trump supporters should be lumped in together seems a little presumptuous. Do you really believe that almost half the country is “deplorable?” That they’re just awful people who need to have their opinions rejected by proper society?

No, but it’s disturbing just how many people apparently share these views. I mean, it isn’t comfortable seeing just how much antisemitism is out there.

Here’s a question: What if you were poor and had been taught that Jews controlled all the money? You wouldn’t have the greatest opinion of Jewish people would you?

But that’s…that’s not true.

You never believed something that wasn’t true just because your parents or teachers said it was?

Some people believe that this is how Jewish people live. (Image source)

Some people believe that this is how Jewish people live. (Image source)

I have! And that’s why I’ve said that people need to stop believing everything they’ve been taught and think for themselves.

What would you have them do – read your blog? Why would they care what you have to say? What do you know about them or their life? You’re just an elitist who likes to talk down to them. Why would they listen to your opinion when it contradicts beliefs that have been part of their family and culture for years?

It’s easy for you to say that people should think for themselves; You had the freedom to do that. But what if thinking for yourself meant going against everything you had been taught and put you at odds with your family and friends?

Yeah…I guess that would be tough.

Didn’t you used to make a lot of gay jokes when you were younger?

What’s that got to do with anything?

Listen, I know you’ve changed, and that’s a good thing. But why did you change?

Aside from becoming somewhat more mature as I’ve gotten older, I also got to meet and become friends with gay people.

You’ve been lucky to have such exposure. You left your hometown and went to college on a diverse campus and spent years living in a diverse city. Not everyone has that opportunity.

I know I’ve been given a lot of advantages in life. I’ve openly admitted that.

I don’t think you truly understand how deep that goes. It was always a given that you would go to college. For a lot of people in this country, college isn’t realistic. For many people, leaving their home town isn’t even a possibility.

Speaking of those home towns, remember that many of them are small towns where the economy is based off of one industry. So how would you feel when politicians start talking about shutting down that one industry because it’s causing “climate change.” Even if climate change was real – and a lot of people say it isn’t – what do you care about more? The sea level getting higher in a few decades or being able to feed your family next month?

And when you’re struggling to make a living, who are you going to vote for when one candidate says he wants to lower your taxes and the other wants to raise them? They talk about helping people go to college, but chances are that money isn’t helping you or your kids go to college! While the extra few dollars in your paycheck can mean actually filling your car up with gas each week.

Okay, okay. I get it. So what are you saying?

I’m saying that you might never agree with these people, but that doesn’t mean that you should completely disregard their opinions. Understand that there might be a reason why they believe the things they do, and that to them, voting for Trump isn’t as stupid as you might think.

Everyone should also remember that even if Hillary wins the election, those people aren’t going to go away, and they’re probably going to feel even angrier than they do now. Simply writing them off as “deplorables” isn’t going to do anyone any favors.

You know, this conversation hasn’t been what I expected. I certainly didn’t expect to hear all this from you. Are you sure you’re really Michael Bublé?

After five years of talking to me on Christmas, I thought you’d have realized that Michael Bublé is whoever you need him to be at that point in time.

Yes, I suppose you are. So, I’ll talk to you again in a couple months?

I’m afraid that’s not going to happen. This is the last time we can ever speak.

What? Why?

Once again, you’re asking a question to which you already know the answer.

So what will I do with myself on Christmas?

I don’t know. Spend time with your family? Relax? Move forward with your life? You know what you want to do with yourself, it’s just a matter of doing it.

Yeah, I know.

Good bye, Cutter.

Good bye….and Michael?

Yes?

Thanks.

And with that, Michael's work was done. (Image source)

And with that, Michael’s work was done. (Image source)

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Guide to Fixing America, Randomness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Very Special Visit From Michael Bublé

  1. Squinty says:

    You look forward to Xmas? You’re Jewish.

  2. I had no idea I had so much in common with Michael Buble…… besides good looks, that is…

Got Something to Say?

