December 1st

After coming out of “retirement” following the election, I’ve spent some time debating whether or not to continue writing here on a regular basis. I realize this seems like a lot of angst for a blog that doesn’t have an especially large dedicated readership, but I’ve spent a lot of time and energy on this site over the past several years, so it’s been tough to walk away for good.

I considered doing another 31 Days of Blogging this December, and treat that as the grand finale, but I soon realized that wasn’t what I really wanted to do. In past years, the task of blogging every day for a month seemed imposing, but I also looked forward to it. I didn’t feel that same sense of anticipation this year. The prospect of writing something for 31 straight days felt like more of an obligation than anything.

Did I really want to review another Barenaked Ladies video? Did I want to critique another episode of G.I.Joe? Did I want to bring back Michael Buble on Christmas? I realized that the answer was no. I also suspected that blogging in December would lead to blogging in January, and then February, and then forevermore.

Bad news for all you BNL fans (Image source

Bad news for all you BNL fans (Image source

And so, I am once again saying goodbye to the blogging world. For the few of you who really look forward to my posts (Hi, Squinty!), I’m sure this is bad news. For everyone else, you may carry on as normal.

My “unretirement” did allow me to remedy something: I felt like I shouldn’t have wrapped up the blog without giving mention to some of my fellow bloggers. Now that I’ve accomplished that, I can really end this with no regrets.

I was very satisfied with my farewell post, and thought it was a great way to end things. Therefore, I’m going to chronologically adjust the date so that when future generations study The Cutter Rambles, that will be the last post they come across. Is that “cheating?” Probably. On the other hand, it’s a blog, and I can do whatever the heck I want.

So for the second time, I wish you all a fond farewell and thanks for reading! And may your December be merry and bright!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Randomness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to December 1st

  1. I do hope that at some point you decide you have more to say. I’d like to think this isn’t goodbye forever on these pages.

  2. List of X says:

    Adjusting the date on this post is a genius idea – that way, you can stay retired, yet keep writing posts whenever you feel like writing one.

  3. Blathering says:

    I wouldn’t worry about the ratio of angst to readership. Almost all the authors of personal-type blogs I follow, and myself, seem to recently have been struggling with whether to continue or give up. Clearly it’s a hard thing to do indefinitely. Those who also write blogs, and read this, will understand and find some worth in hearing that someone else is having the same difficulties. Good luck with whatever you decide to do!

  4. The Hook says:

    You write it, we’ll read it.
    Period.

  5. Holly says:

    I’ve decided not to make any decisions on my blog carrying on (or not) until after the holidays. sounded great when I said that a few months ago, but now I realize the time is coming closer that I will need to go ahead and make a decision.

Got Something to Say?

